Kansas City,
08:32 AM

Donors invest in the future of children's health: Children's Mercy endows five extraordinary faculty and colleagues

Fall 2023 Investiture Ceremony

Children’s Mercy formally invested five endowed faculty positions in the fields of healthy lifestyles, clinical pharmacology, neurology, surgery and developmental and behavioral health at the Fall 2023 Investiture Ceremony on Tuesday, October 24, 2023.

The Children’s Mercy Research Institute was the perfect setting to celebrate the elevation of this esteemed group of clinicians, researchers and leaders to academic medicine’s highest achievement and the generous donors who made these endowed positions possible.

Philanthropy has powered the hospital, treatment and cures for children for more than 125 years. Thanks to our philanthropic community, Children’s Mercy has more than doubled its total number of endowed chairs - bringing more answers to children and families when they need them most!

“Through extraordinary donor investment, endowed positions provide ongoing financial support to advance excellence in pediatric medicine, research and teaching, while elevating the academic profile of Children’s Mercy and its stature as a national leader,” said Paul Kempinski, Children’s Mercy President and CEO, Alice Berry, DDS, and Katharine Berry, MD, Endowed Chair in Executive Leadership. “The impact: best-in-class experts and care for children and families who call Kansas City and our region home.”


Sarah E. Hampl, MD

Kemper Endowed Professorship for Healthy Lifestyles

Bridgette L. Jones, MD, MSCR

Marion Merrell Dow/Missouri Endowed Chair in Pediatric Clinical Pharmacology

Jean-Baptiste Le Pichon, MD, PhD, FAAP

Madison Lauren Sargent Endowed Professorship in Neurology/Angelman Syndrome

Tolulope A. Oyetunji, MD, MPH, FACS, FAAP

Thomas Holder/Keith Ashcraft Chair in Pediatric Surgical Research

 Shayla A. Sullivant, MD

Joy and Stewart Koesten Endowed Professorship in Developmental and Behavioral Health

Learn more about the honorees and donors

Fall 2023 Investiture Ceremony


Thank you to the Kemper Family Foundations, UMB Bank, n.a. Trustee, the Marion Merrell Dow Foundation, Fred Lyons, Ed Connolly, Patrick and Laura Sargent, Maddie’s Mission Foundation, The Shaw Family Foundation, Thomas Holder and Keith Ashcraft, and Joy and Stewart Koesten for their visionary leadership and generosity in establishing these vital positions for the continued work of building a world of well-being for all children.