Kansas City,
08:05 AM

Doctors invest in the future of children's health: Children's Mercy Kansas City endows five extraordinary faculty and colleagues

Children’s Mercy Kansas City formally invested five endowed faculty positions in the fields of cardiology, neonatology, orthopedic surgery and molecular medicine at the 2023 Investiture Ceremony on Wednesday, April 19, 2023.

The Children’s Mercy Research Institute was the perfect setting to celebrate the elevation of this esteemed group of clinicians, researchers and leaders to academic medicine’s highest achievement and the generous donors who made these endowed positions possible.

Philanthropy has powered the hospital, treatment and cures for children for more than 125 years. Thanks to our philanthropic community, Children’s Mercy has more than doubled its total number of endowed chairs - bringing more answers to children and families when they need them most!

“Through extraordinary donor investment, endowed positions provide ongoing financial support to advance excellence in pediatric medicine, research and teaching, while elevating the academic profile of Children’s Mercy and its stature as a national leader,” said Paul Kempinski, Children’s Mercy President and CEO, Alice Berry, DDS, and Katharine Berry, MD, Endowed Chair in Executive Leadership. “The impact: best-in-class experts and care for children and families who call Kansas City and our region home.”


Aliessa P. Barnes, MD

The Melva and Randall L. O’Donnell Chair in Pediatric Cardiology

Steven Olsen, MD

Swatek Family Endowed Chair in Neonatology

Jon Wagner, DO

Matson Family Endowed Professorship in Cardiology Research

Norman Y. Otsuka, MD, MSc, FRCSC, FAAP, FACS, FAOA

Dr. Brad and Dawn Olney Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery

Rangaraj Selvarangan, PhD, BVSc, D(ABMM), FIDSA, F(AAM)

William R. Brown/Missouri Endowed Chair in Medical Genetics and Molecular Medicine


To learn more about the honorees and donors, please visit 2023 Investiture Ceremony (office.com).

Thank you to Dr. Randall and Melva O’Donnell, Ken and Mary Matson, Steve and Kathy Swatek, Dr. Brad and Dawn Olney, and William R. Brown for their visionary leadership and generosity in establishing these vital positions for the continued work of building a world of well-being for all children.